Joey Logano has won the 57th annual Daytona 500 in a wild race at Daytona International Speedway in the NASCAR Sprint Cup series. Driving a PWR Performance Products cooled Ford Fusion for Team Penske, Logano led 31 laps. He drove to the front on Lap 191 and maintained the front position to win “The Great American Race”.
The end of the race came under a caution after Justin Allgaier’s late wreck forced a red flag and a green-white-chequered finish. With the race in overtime, a massive wreck in the pack forced a caution flag to come out on Lap 203, securing the victory for Logano.
Defending Sprint Cup champion Kevin Harvick driving a Chev-rolet SS for Stewart Haas Racing finished in second place with defending Daytona 500 champion Dale Earnhardt Jnr driving a Chevrolet SS for Hendrick Motorsports taking third position for a PWR Performance Products podium.
Jeff Gordon driving the PWR cooled Chevrolet SS for Hendrick Motorsports started the race on pole position and dominated the first half of the race. He led a race high 87 laps and was always at, or near the front of the pack for the majority of the race. He was involved in a crash on the final lap and wound up in 33rd position.
The top 10 cars all used PWR Performance Products.